Your Local Talent Pipeline May Be Gaining Strength

The National Association of Agricultural Educators has released a list of names of scholarship recipients for a teacher-education program partially underwritten by our Association.

The Association has contributed $28,000 over two years to support teachers pursuing training that will help them equip high school students with skills for careers in farm equipment.

We have undertaken this joint industry initiative with the Equipment Dealers Association and the Association of Equipment Manufacturers.

“This is a tool that provides not only a financial incentive for teachers but an opening for shortline companies to cultivate relationships with educators who will ultimately supply well-trained candidates for employment,” said Executive Vice President Vernon Schmidt. “Scholarship recipients can become part of a broader partnership in which our members go into classrooms and students go into manufacturing plants.”

The $2,000 partial scholarships support teachers in two categories: mechanical systems in agriculture and agricultural power and technology.
Participating teachers will take classes over the summer through the Curriculum for Agricultural Science Education (CASE), a multi-year approach to agricultural science education. The National Association of Agricultural Educators manages the CASE initiative.

During the CASE Institute, teachers spend 80 hours working through lessons in the yearlong curriculum and learning how to deliver those lessons.

Take a look at the list of 2020 scholarship recipients. If you see a teacher from your community, we can help you reach out and begin a partnership.

  • Nicole Abel, Waitsburg, Wash.
  • Emily Anderson, Bainbridge. N.Y.
  • Casey Beavers, Dardanelle, Ark.
  • Janae Bickhart, Dayton, Va.
  • Breanna Bregel, Fargo, N.D.
  • Steven Clodfelter, West Salem, Ill.
  • Adam Corum, Bridgeport, Wash.
  • Lacie Darnell, Kingman, Kan.
  • Jessica DeVries, Burlington Flats, N.Y.
  • Todd Dezellem, Brewster, Wash.
  • Bo Downing, Manhattan, Kan.
  • Shawn Duncanson, Sunnyside, Wash.
  • Rachel Easdon, Iuka, Kan.
  • Nikki Fideldy-Doll, New Salem, N.D.
  • Edward Franklin, Tucson, Ariz.
  • Claire Geiger, Alhambra, Ill.
  • Cheyenne Holliday, Andale, Kan.
  • Will Johnson, Sublette, Kan.
  • Alyssa Lewark, Kimball, Neb.
  • Anna Lukert, Paxico, Kan.
  • Jessica Lynn, Clinton Township, Mich.
  • Ryan Maiden, Burbank, Wash.
  • Jonathan Meyer, Herington, Kan.
  • Brian Meyer, Huntingburg, Ind.
  • Jessica Moore, Garfield, Wash.
  • Lindsey Palmer, Hamilton, N.Y.
  • Cassandra Perrin, Coopersville, Mich.
  • Steve Russell, Ellensburg, Wash.
  • Doug Sahr, Albert Lea, Minn.
  • Elizabeth Sanderson, Clarksville, Ark.
  • Hank Sharp, Bakersfield, Calif.
  • Kasey Sims, Mountain View, Ark.
  • Ashley Tonn, Enterprise, Kan.
  • Maya Wahl, Endicott, Wash.
  • HaLee Walter, Odessa, Wash.
  • Brian Welch, Madisonville, Ky.